I am Returning to Uganda.

“However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.” Acts 20:24 (NIV)

Friends,

In May of 2011, I went to Uganda. This experience left me unsettled. Then I came back and started seminary. The only thing that I wanted to do upon returning to the States, was get back to Uganda as soon as possible. But, for this time in my life, I felt like it was important to wait until it was God’s time for me to go back, even if it meant waiting until after Seminary (2-3 years). However, as usual, I couldn’t see what God had in store. I have been given the opportunity to go back to Uganda with Trinity in from February 29th to March 11th 2012. 

ABIDE (kehnsjam.com/abide) is a Christian leadership training program in Uganda designed to enable youth who have graduated from secondary school to transition into sustainable adulthood on the foundation of Jesus Christ by forming them in Christian faith, character and leadership. They essentially equip the students to be godly leaders in their communities, country (government or otherwise), churches, schools, and so on.

I will be working with ABIDE for the 10 days that I am in Uganda. I will get to experience the ministry through teaching, particpating in community outreach, and being involved in all other aspects of daily life on the compound. I will live life with them and be able to get an idea for if this is something that I could do for a longer period of time. The crazy part about this was that I had said that if I ever went back, I wanted to work with a specific ministry there called ABIDE.

One thing that’s difficult though, is the cost. It will cost around $2,650 for me to go to Uganda. As a seminary student who works part-time to pay for school, I am unable to fund myself to go. It is here that I trust in God to provide and ask that as you are able, that you would help me to go on this trip as a means of God’s provision (your giving is tax exempt). Prayer is incredibly necessary as well, that God would work powerfully and keep us all safe and healthy. If you are able and willing to do both, that is awesome! 

I need to have my funds fully raised by March 23rd and I must have $2000 by February 13th in order to go on the trip.

Please, if you decide to support either in prayer, money, or both; email me  your mailing address so that I will have both your email and mailing address to contact you during and after the trip!

You can visit https://www.formstack.com/forms/tiu_forms-missions_giving_uganda to give through credit card and receive the tax deduction or you can send a check to: 

OCFM
Trinity International University
2065 Half Day Road Deerfield, IL
60015-9963

The check should be written to “TIU” or “Trinity International University” so that it is able to be tax-deductible (If you do this, please include a note saying that it is for me, but do not write my name anywhere on the check).

If you do choose to send a check, you can let me know and I can mail you a response envelope so that you do not have to pay for postage.

This is what I have to look forward to: Pictures of Uganda

Thank you so much!

May the Lord bless you and keep you,
Carl Chomko

2 thoughts on “I am Returning to Uganda.

  1. Hi Carl,
    I just found out about your mission trip. I want to donate money towards your trip. I saw the link to Trinity, but I want to make sure the money goes towards your fundraising for your trip. Tell me how to donate to your trip. It sounds exciting and I know God has big plans for you there. Blessings to you–Kim Hartrich

    • Kim,

      Thank you so much for being willing to support me! When you follow the Trinity link it lets you choose who the donation goes towards!

      Blessings,
      Carl

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

