Thank You For Being Alive

[Thank You] Faithful are the wounds of a friend; profuse are the kisses of an enemy.

– Proverbs 27:6 ESV –

I like to consider myself a realist. I wouldn’t say I’m pessimistic, but I try to analyze situations and look at what the likely outcome is. I would say sometimes I could do a better job of having faith in God’s sovereignty in a situation (some might call that optimism) and believe more in the work that God has done and will do in people.

Proverbs 25:6 is the kind of verse that encourages people like me to always be sure to rebuke when there’s an opportunity…but maybe that’s not quite what Solomon had in mind.

This isn’t going to be an in-depth word study or exegesis on this topic, but instead, simply a quick look at something I feel God is saying to me today.

I am critical more often than I think I actually should be. As much as wise words of rebuke are worth more than kisses from an enemy, how much better is the encouragement of a friend, especially when you are already down?

Because of my critical nature, I have a hard time encouraging people unless I see them do something that is actually “impressive.” I only give credit where it’s “due.”

What about grace?

I’ve been blessed by God and encouraged by God, not because of anything that I’ve done, but because of what He has done.

Perhaps I should extend that same grace, not only when people fail and need forgiveness, but perhaps it’s a form of grace to give encouragement even when it’s not “warranted.”

Perhaps this world would be a bit of a better place and Christ’s light might shine through me a bit more if I simply approached people happy that they are alive. Everything positive beyond that is just a bonus.

I don’t know about you, but I’m thankful that I’m alive. I’m thankful for the possibilities and the opportunities that I have each day to glorify God and to show Him to others.

I’m thankful you’re alive and I hope you are thankful for that as well.

Thank you for being alive.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

